Saturday, September 23, 2023

Are Sour Patch Kids Gluten-free? (Answered) 2022

Are-Sour-Patch-Kids-Gluten-FreeImage Credit

Sour Patch Kids are made by the same company that makes Wheat Thins, which contain wheat. They’re also made in the same factory where other products containing gluten are produced. This means that there’s a chance that these candies could contain gluten. Are sour patch kids gluten-free?

Yes, it is considered one of the gluten-free candies from United States manufacturers. The ingredients used in the candies imply that it is gluten-free.

What Are Sour Patch kids?

Mondelez is a parent company maker of Oreos and other snack foods. The sour patch kids are also the product of Mondelez now. They are available under different names in various countries like ‘Very bad Kids’ in France and “Maynards Sour Patch Kids” in the UK and Canada.

Their distribution covers a wider market. They have many factories in different countries. The formula for making varies based on the country. But the standard mix contains redberry, blue raspberry, pink strawberry, lemon, orange, lime, white pineapple, and grape.

Well, they may have been once upon a time, but now it seems like they’re back to being full of gluten again. In fact, the FDA has determined that the original recipe for Sour Patch Kids contained gluten. However, the company changed its recipe after receiving complaints from consumers who were allergic to gluten.

What is Gluten?

Yes, you are right it is basically a protein found in wheat, rye,barley, and many more grains. People with celiac disease cannot tolerate gluten because it damages the small intestine. This damage prevents the body from absorbing nutrients properly.

Why Do People Have Celiac Disease?

It is an autoimmune disorder in which the immune system of humans attacks the lining of the small intestine. In people who have celiac disease, eating gluten triggers inflammation and damage to the intestinal wall. Symptoms of celiac disease include diarrhea, bloating, abdominal pain, fatigue, weight loss, and malnutrition.

Now let us talk about sour patch kids in detail:

What Are Sour Patch Kids Made Of?

sour patch kids ingredients,  Sour patches ingredients: The sour patch kids’ ingredients are sugar, invert sugar, modified corn starch, tartaric acid, citric acid, natural and artificial flavor, and corn syrup.

Sugar: Sugar that gives the taste.

Inverted sugar:  This ingredient helps in the making process. It prevents crystallization.

Corn Syrup: This corn syrup is made from corn. It helps in giving the chewy texture.

Modified corn starch:  Treat the corn with acids, heat, or electricity to help to make a candy structure.

Tartaric acid:  Grapes and tamarind contain tartaric acid.

Citric acid: citric acids are rich in fruits like lemons and limes.

Artificial colors: yellow 6, Red 40, yellow 5, and blue 1

Titanium dioxide: It gives white pigment to the foods. It creates an outer coating in this case.

Are Sour Patch Kids Gluten-free?

Yes, sour patch kids are gluten-free. Their ingredients do not contain glutens in that. Anyway, you check the labeled package to confirm the gluten-free. Gluten is nothing but a protein found in wheat and some grains. And reviewers say that all types of sour patch kids are safe to eat.

Sour patch kids varieties

  • Sour patch kids – Original
  • Big sour patch kids
  • Sour patch kids – Extreme sour
  • Sour patch kids – Watermelon
  • Sour patch kids- Blue Raspberry
  • Sour patch kids – Sour Cherry Blasters
  • Sour patch kids bunnies
  • Sour patch lollipops
  • Sour patch peach
  • Sour patch apple
  • Sour patch chillerz
  • Sour patch xploderz

Some other candies you can give to your kids are;

  • Airheads
  • Starburst
  • Milkyway
  • Skittles
  • Butterfinger
  • Tootsie roll

Can You Make Sour Patch Kids At Home?

Yes, it can make from scratch easily at home. Mix all the ingredients, make it into the paste, and pour it into a plain baking pan. You can cut this into different shapes as you wish.

Now let us see:

Simple Method To Know If It Contains Gluten

There are several ways to test whether something has gluten in it. One method is to use a food tester. A food tester will taste a product and tell you if it contains gluten. Another option is to buy a kit at a store that tests foods for gluten.

What’s The Difference Between Gluten Free And Wheat Free?

If you’re looking for a gluten-free diet, then you should probably avoid products with wheat flour as well as other ingredients that contain gluten. However, there are some differences between gluten-free and wheat-free diets.


Are sour patch kids gluten-free? or do sour patch have gluten? Directly, we can say that, yes it is gluten-free and safe to eat. The one pack of sour patch kids contains 16 pieces of patches and has a calorie value of 140. It can give as a snack to your kids. It can cause harm to the teeth as it contains acids and sugar to decay your teeth. If you are taking in a quantity that is not crossing the limit it may be healthy snacks.

Bonus Information: Are Sour Patch Kids Dairy-Free? Yes for sure Sour patch kids are dairy-free and their ingredients are free of dairy.

Also Read: Do TUMS help with nausea?

Follow Us: Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube | Pinterest

Tinydale is on YouTube, Click here to subscribe for the latest videos and updates.

Leave a Reply